part

if you looked through my eyes
you’d only see part…
best to use own eyes

q. well why can’t you just tell me what it’s about?
i can’t figure it out, otherwise…

a. because art is about showing
as much as the artist
is willing to show
and no more than that

q. but poetry isn’t art!
prose isn’t art!

a. in some cases, it is…
in my last piece
the blue-covered tree bark
represented the sadness of an old friend
the red serviette,
remembrances of dining
in a particular chinese restaurant in 1979

q. but that’s absurd!
why write anything at all?
who’s going to understand its meaning?

a. i will, and besides…
you’d be surprised what others
take away with them…
hopefully their own impressions, ideas and remembrances

q. oh, so it’s just me, then?

a. would you like it better
if i spelled it all out
divulged every detail to you?

on second thought
don’t answer that!

by mary ann blinkhorn

23 thoughts on “part

  1. Reminds me of a Native American dialogue between two crows, Question Woman and Answer Woman. I would argue that all use of language that serves to create an image or a narrative in someone’s mind, is art.

  2. bulldog says:

    Poetry is art.. like painters it takes a special talent to be able to write it.. and good poetry is sometimes better than good art… a painter produces what they see with their brain which is not always what you see in the painting… but a poet who pens their inner thought always puts into words what they want and often the reader gets the same message, but they will always grasp a closer meaning than with a painting…. just my thoughts… and I do love poetry, but can’t write a word of it…

  3. Helen says:

    another one of your lovely writings that expresses what I know/feel but forget to express.

  4. Maxi says:

    Good tit for tat, M.A. For me, prose and poetry is the art of using words to create image in the mind.
    blessings ~ maxi

    • mypenandme says:

      I agree with you. I actually wrote this in response to a blog I was reading last week. The blogger started off by stating, “I hate it when poets…” and her words somehow stuck a pin in me. I didn’t respond to her blog. I simply unfollowed her.

  5. nice schematic, ms Bee

  6. It takes time, heart, effort and desire to see, hear and want more than what’s apparent ~very interesting `thank you.

  7. Beautiful and so very thought provoking! Nicely done!

  8. You know I love this one Mary Ann! Hugs.

    • mypenandme says:

      Thanks, Don. I wish I could remember who it was I was responding to. I don’t even know. For all I know, it could have been one of my favourite bloggers. Shaking my head…

  9. clinock says:

    “To define a thing is to substitute the definition for the thing itself.”
    Georges Braque

  10. Poetry is art. Art is poetry.

Leave a Reply

