The Phone Call

She:  Did you buy those green garbage bags like I suggested?

He:  I bought the green garbage bags.  I just can’t find them.
Four big extra long tall rolls, and I have no idea.
Oh yeah, I think I have a lung infection.

She:  That’s awful, but did you buy those endorsed
by the Man from Glad?  Glad, get it?

He:  Yes they were glad.  It’s the only brand in town.  I was
supposed to put them on my windows but the heat came in
and I couldn’t touch anything.  I couldn’t touch the mouse
on my laptop.  The fan wasn’t working.  My lungs weren’t working.
I could still suck in some cigarette smoke though, even with
chronic bronchitis.

A car purred by, slightly obtrusively and a trickle of sweat dribbled down R’s glasses, obscuring the vision of his left eye, and at that point in meltdown heat, he realized, simplicity — putting up a green garbage bag.

She:  Russel!  Russel!  Are you there?

He:  Yup.

She:  What was that big crash, sounding like shattered glass?
Surely not the satellite dish?

He:  Don’t throw the cutlery at me, bitch.

She:  Is someone there?  Talk to me.  Think with your right eye.

A car hissed by, slightly obtrusively and a trickle of sweat dribbled down R’s glasses, obsuring the vision of his right eye.

He:  I’ve got to go now.  The chicken curry needs stirring.

Note:  I found these words in my notebook — the result of me and Russel Ayres (who resides in Australia) kidding around on the phone, one night.  There aren’t too many words of mine here, but it was fun.

18 thoughts on “The Phone Call

  1. rusky says:

    I just hope to live long enough thru my slightly obscured vision to watch myself end up in one of your academy award winning scripts, yes feel free to Cast Justin Timberlake as me…or Madonna…I don’t mind…lol…kises…you are more fun than most of the people I know MA…oh…BTW….you do know what the biggest se…..

    Her…”I’m not writing that…”

    Him…I know,

    LOVe you MaryAnn

    HIM = r.

    • mypenandme says:

      You’re too much! Ha! it was good talking with you, Rusky. Thanks for appoving the post.
      P.S. I was just walking by the balcony window and I noticed that all the clouds in the sky are black. It looks so weird. I took a couple of snaps but I don’t think they’ll turn out. My batteries are low and it’s too dark. If they do turn out, I will post them.
      Hugs, M.A.

  2. C.J. Black says:

    The mind sure works in mysterious ways eh!! Looks like you found another one with their hand up for an extras part in the movie.

  3. bulldogsturf says:

    Now this takes my breath away… what a conversation… it must make everyone laugh…

  4. mj says:

    It’s an interesting post… memory, diary, a telephone… so many mediums within which to refract the message. Very nice indeed!

  5. Even more fun to read. Thank you!

  6. Raani York says:

    What a great post! Hearing about fun is great!!

Leave a Reply

