are there weeds covering your gravestone?

are there weeds covering your gravestone?

i sure hope not

 

i’m penning a list of “hows” today

how we first met

how our powerful

belief in each other

led us to take one more step

and then another

how each step though difficult brought us joy

 

how re-rationalizing your life’s circumstances

through a man’s eyes

brought the boy’s heart, peace

set the man and boy free

 

how the roughest of handling

toughest predicaments

never compromised your ability

to be tender toward those

whom you loved

 

how you found something likable in folks

when others saw only negatives

how grateful were the hearts of those individuals

 

how you shared a spirit of hope

when sometimes

barely having enough

for yourself

 

oh how you liked a good fight

and a good challenge

you never picked them, though

never bullied others

always protected the underdog

 

how you searched for reasons

to have respect

and found them

never turning your back

on those whom meant something to you

 

how you sized people up pretty well

paying attention to their eyes

you looked for clear eyes

or near-clear eyes

commented on eyes often

 

but what made you stand out

was the way you made things “yours”

your books

your thoughts

your aches and pains

your vast knowledge of things

your music

your friends and family

your life experiences

and so much more

 

making them yours enabled you

to have a highly-developed

sense of self

and that’s what everyone liked about you

and i loved about you

along with all of the above…

rest in peace

 

by mary ann blinkhorn

31 thoughts on “are there weeds covering your gravestone?

  1. arnoldthearmadillo says:

    Now I feel sad

  2. annotating60 says:

    I thought it an excellent poem, though you might rethink having such a long listing og what the person had made theirs.>KB

  3. Gravestone? I will be cremated and want my ashes tossed from a bridge. I told my daughter to make sure the wind is at her back because I do not want any blowback wherein the cars run over my ashes and I get killed again.

  4. Good Morning

    I have a Star for you as part of this award I have nominated you for
    The Blog of The Year 2012 Award!~

    http://nutsfortreasure.wordpress.com/2012/12/03/please-check-the-list-blogger-of-the-year-2012/

    Eunice

  5. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    What a lovely tribute to someone I wish I’d known.

  6. Nice tribute Mary Ann.

  7. sued51 says:

    I actually thought this was a lovely tribute…it’s healthy and healing to do this…

  8. Food Forays says:

    What a beautiful homage… very heartfelt and such deep impact. xo

  9. oldsunbird says:

    A tender, loving tribute to someone it is obvious you cared for deeply.

  10. Raani York says:

    Hello,

    I am pleased to let you know that I have nominated you for the ‘BLOG of the Year 2012″ Award.
    If you would like to pick it up, please go to my own blog:

    http://raaniyork.wordpress.com/2012/12/05/blog-of-the-year-2012/

    There are the rules for you to follow and your Award to pick up.

    Congratulations – I just LOVE your blog posts – I do admire your talent and I’m convinced you deserve it!

  11. guest8675309 says:

    I lost a friend recently. This fits so well,especially since someone who was blind got his eyes. My friend was cremated too.
    This was a blessing to me .

  12. I understand this feeling of the” remembering” process and it is captured succinctly and tenderly~ I truly share in your loss. This keeps her alive! Blessings ~Deborah

  13. mypenandme says:

    I wonder if everyone thinks I’m writing about a woman–how embarrassing. Adding (my) in line four is a confessional–showing in mid-line that the word “her” really means “me.”

  14. mypenandme says:

    Okay…I just did an edit…problem solved, I hope.

  15. Maxi says:

    No need to second guess yourself, this is a wonderful poem.
    Blessings ~ Maxi

Leave a Reply

