the red geranium

do you remember

the red geranium

the one that we both took photographs of?

yours were taken

in black and white

the one that I took, in color?

it’s 2 a.m.

and i have to say

that I still cling on to that photograph, sometimes

usually while counting sheep

the murmur of traffic

reminding me gently

that life does indeed, go on

by mary ann blinkhorn

Written for Three Word Wednesday.  This week’s words were:  cling, murmur and taken

http://www.threewordwednesday.com/

10 thoughts on “the red geranium

  1. PoetJanstie says:

    Oh I do like this poem. It is from a bleeding heart, but one that still has hope. Very special!

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Very nice. 🙂

  3. Ben Naga says:

    This puts me in some ways in mind of Prévert.

  4. Beautiful poem; brought me back to a time and place buried deep in my heart. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

